

ACCESS. INNOVATION. EXCELLENCE.

DRAFT

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education May 13, 2020, Research Committee Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Highe r Education Research Committee met on Wednesday, May 13th at 3:15 p.m. CT, via conference call, originat H G from the Capitol, NDUS Office, 600 East Boulevard Ave., Bismarck, ND 58505.

Chair Ryan called the meeting to order at 3:15 p.m. CT.

SBHE Research C ommittee m embers pa rticipating:

Dr. Casey Ryan, Chair Ms. Kathleen Neset Mr. Don Morton

Others Participating:

Chancellor Mark Hagerott Ms. Lisa Johnson, NDUS Mr. Ryan Jockers, NDUS Ms. Kristie Hetzler, NDUS Ms. Terry Meyer, NDUS Ms. Tammy Dolan, NDUS Interim President Wynne, UND Dr. Andy Armacost, UND President Bresciani, NDSU Dr. John Mihelich, UND Dr. Jeffrey VanLooy, UND Dr. Jane Schuh, NDSU Dr. Kelly Rusch, NDSU Mr. Eric Olson, Asst. A.G. and General Counsel

1. Agenda

Addition of a report from the Research Sub- committee.

Age nda with addition was approved by consensus.

 Meeting Minutes Neset moved, Morton seconded, to approve the April 15, 2020, meeting minutes.

Morton, Neset, and Ryan voted yes

The committee discussed the following topics:

- 3. Report on Human Capital Investment
- 4. North Dakota Science and Technology Plan
- 5. ND EPSCoR NSF Track 1 Award

Report from the Research Sub - Committee

The Research sub -committee met on May 11 th to discuss consolida ting pro posals from the Valley Prosperity Partnership (VPP) and State Board of Higher Education Research Committee (SBHE). After a comprehensive review of both proposals, Chair Ryan requested Dr. Schuh and Dr. Mihelich collate sections B, C, D, E, from VPP and B and C from the SBHE propos als. Upon completion of the specific areas, the revisions will be incorporated into a single proposal for the Research Committee 's consideration during their June meeting.