

State Capitol – 600 E Boulevard Ave – Dept. 215 Bismarck ND 58505-0230

Phone: 701.328.2960 Fax: 701.328.2961 E-mail: ndus.office@ndus.edu Web: ndus.edu

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education June 30, 2020, Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education met on Tuesday, June 30, 2020 at 8:30 a.m. CT, at Bismarck State College, National Energy Center of Excellence, Bavendick room, 1200 Schafer Street, Bismarck, ND 58501. Presidents and others presenting partic ipant ed via Teams live to limit group size and contact, as recommended by state and federal govern ment officials.

Chair Hacker called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. CT.

SBHE Members participating:

Mr. Nick Hacker, Chair

Mr. Kaleb Dschaak

Ms. Kathleen Neset

Mr. Don Morton

Ms. Retha Mattern, Staff Adviser

Dr. Casey Ryan, Vice Chair

Mr. Tim Mihalick

Ms. Jill Louters

Ms. Danita Bye

Dr. Debora Dragseth, Faculty Adviser

Chancellor present: Dr. Mark Hagerott

Institution Representatives Present:

Dr. Brian Van Horn, President, MaSU

Dr. Alan LaFave, President, VCSU

Dr. Steve Shirley, President, MiSU

Ms. Kim Wray, WSC

Dr. Jerry Migler, Dean, DCB

Dr. Doug Darling, President, LRSC

Dr. John Richman, President, NDSCS

Dr. Dean Bresciani, President, NDSU

Dr. Larry C. Skogen, President, BSC

Mr. Stephen Easton, President, DSU

Dr. Andy Armacost , President, UND

Dr. Joshua Wynne, UND

NDUS Senior Staff Participating:

Mr. Tammy Dolan, Vice Chancellor for Admin/CFO

Ms. Lisa Johnson, VC of Academic and Student Affairs

Mr. Darin King, VC of IT/CIO

Ms. Terry Meyer, Chief of Staff

Ms. Kristie Hetzler, Executive Assistant to the State Board of Higher Education

Mr. Jerry Rostad, CTS

Ms. Erica Solberg, incoming SBHE Student Member

Dr. Elizabeth Legerski, incoming SBHE CCF Adviser

Others Participating:

Mr. Eric Olson, Attorney General's Office

1. Agenda

Louters moved, Ryan seconded, to approve President Emeritis to Larry C. Skogen.

Mihalick, Ryan, Bye, Morton, Louters, Neset, Dschaak, and Hacker voted yes.

16. 2020 Skilled Workforce Scholarship Skilled Workforce Loan Repayment Report Ms. Brenda Zastoupil presented the <u>2020 Skilled Workforce Scholarship Skilled Workforce</u> <u>Loan Repayment Report</u>. She explained that Job Se rvice with have a final list released on/or around July 15 and she will send to Board members.

Louters moved, Ryan seconded, to approve 2020 Skilled Workforce Scholarship Skilled Workforce Loan Repayment Report .

(3)

Ryan moved, Louters seconded, to app rove Chancellor Hagerotts contract renewel and salary increase .

Bye, Neset, Dschaak, Morton, Louters, Mihalick, Ryan, and Hacker voted yes.

25. Executive Session/Presidential Contracts

Mihalick m ove d, Ryan seconded, to enter Executive Session at 11:27 a.m. CT, to (1) consider the appointment, re -appointmen t, renewal contracts, and any new contract terms for Presidents of NDUS institutions and (2) limit the executive session to voting board members, nonvoting advis ers, Chancellor, selected NDUS Office Staff, and board counsel.

The legal authority for closing this portion of the meeting is North Dakota Century Code section 15 -10-17(1) (a).

Executive session began at 11:37 a .m. CT.

SBHE Members participating:

Mr. Nick Hacker, Chair

Dr. Casey Oa[69P/4t8

Morton moved, Ryan seconded, to extend President Richman's contract to July 1, 2022 and approve salary increase as discussed in executive session.

Ryan, Bye, Louters, Morton, Mihalick, Dschaak, and Hacker voted yes . Neset voted no.

ipsTd ()Ti EMC /LB0289e722/5, ()Ti /C75.04 Tm ()Ti [(26)-0.6 (re)-12.7 (p)-4.7 (w 1.807 0 Td [(196[.85019.9 agreed the SBHE Research and Governance Committee will begin the work and make recommendations to the full Board to consider.

SBHE Committee Reports / Updates / Discussion

- 27. SBHE Committee a ppointments were provided by Chair Hacker.
- 28. SBHE Academic and Student Affairs Committee report was provided by Ms. Jill Louters. ivc4.5F0.8 (n4 0.0 (0o)9.4 5F-8p m.6 (rs)]TJ 1.337 0 Td (.)Tj55 >>BDC 0.00)4.4 (w)-7.4 (o)9.4 J 0 Tc 0 Tw 27p

- 35. Staff Senate <u>report</u> was provided by Ms. Retha Mattern
- 36. Public Com men t no public comment.

Chair Hacker p resented recognition p laques to the following:

Mr. Don Morton, SBHE Member

Dr. Larry C. Skogen, BSC President

Mr. Kaleb Dschaak, SBHE Student Member

Dr. Debora Dragseth , SBHE Faulty Advider

Dr. Joshua Wyn ne, Former UND Interim President

The meeting adjourned at 3:45 p.m. CT.

Approved July 23, 2020.