

# North Dakota State Board of Higher Education

March 25, 2021, Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education will met on Thursday, March 25, 2021, at 9:00 a.m. CT, via Teams live.

SBHE Members participating:

Mr. Nick Hacker, Chair Ms. Erica Solberg Dr. Jill Louters Ms. Danita Bye Ms. Retha Mattern, Staff Adviser

Chancellor present: Dr. Mark Hagerott

Institution Representatives Present:

Dr. Brian Van Horn, President, MaSU Dr. Steve Shirley, President, MiSU Dr. John Miller, President, WSC Dr. Jerry Migler, Dean, DCB Dr. Doug Darling, President, LRSC Dr. John Richman, President, NDSCS Dr. Dean Bresciani, President, NDSU Dr. Doug Jensen, President, BSC Dr. Stephen Easton, President, DSU Mr. Andy Armacost, President, UND Dr. Alan LaFave, President, VCSU

NDUS Senior Staff Participating: Mr. Tammy Dolan, NDUS Ms. Lisa Johnson, NDUS Mr. Darin King, NDUS Ms. Terry Meyer, NDUS Ms. Kristie Hetzler, NDUS Ms. Jane Grinde, NDUS Ms. Robin Putnam, NDUS Mr. Jerry Rostad, NDUS

# Others Participating:

Dr. Joshua Wynne Mr. Eric Olson, AG Office

### 1. Agenda

Ryan moved, Bye seconded, to approve the agenda as presented.

Neset, Mihalick, Bye, Solberg, Louters, Warford, Ryan, and Hacker voted yes.

## 2. COVID Update

Dr. Joshua Wynne provided a status update on COVID-19, including information regarding COVID vaccination(s).

Dr. Casey Ryan (Vice Chair) Ms. Kathleen Neset Mr. Tim Mihalick Dr. John Warford Dr. Elizabeth Legerski, Faculty Adviser

#### Board Consent (3-5)

- 3. February 25, 2021, Meeting Minutes
- SBHE Audit Committee Ms. Kathleen Neset
- 4. <u>Updated Audit Plan</u>
- 5. NDUS IA Executive Survey

Neset moved, Mihalick seconded, to approve the consent agenda, items 3 – 5.

Neset, Mihalick, Bye, Solberg, Louters, Warford, Ryan, and Hacker voted yes.

#### 6. 2021-2022 Proposed Room and Board Fees

Mr.3 (y)-6.2 (e)-12.7 (s)2.d (6.)Tj r021-u, antehw 18.6 (810 cs 0 scn 0.4.3 (eet)2.7 (i)-[ (e0m)-1.ve0m)-1(i)

#### 8. SBARE Nomination

Chancellor Hagerott announced the Ag Coalition nominated <u>Mrs. Sarah Lovas</u> for a fouryear term, which would begin July 1, 2021.

Mihalick moved, Bye seconded, to approve the SBARE nominiation as presented.

Mihalick, Louters, Warford, Ryan, Bye, Solberg, Neset, and Hacker voted yes.

## 9. Honorary Degrees

Ms. Lisa Johnson explained that the following individuals have been nominated to (dS2.7 (m)-0.8 (p)-3.7 (

Reading, a mend Plicy 605.2

Louters moved, Warford seconded, to approve second reading and final adoption of policy 403.1.

Warford, Mihalick, Louters, Ryan, Bye, Solberg, Neset, and Hacker voted yes.

### 17. Policy 1901.3, Information Technology Project Management

Mr. Darin King stated there were no additional amendments or input 2<sup>nd</sup> reading of policy <u>1901.3</u>, Information Technology Project Management.